Spring at Ventana

dateline April 1, 2022

Happily, Ventana Canyon provided a more flourishing selection of wildflowers than the Sutherland Trail two weeks ago. This spring’s flowers tend to be smaller than those in years with abundant rain. Some flowers I came closer to identifying than others. With many I stopped at the genus level as, for example, there are simply too many choices for the phacelias and the spurges and I didn’t stop to look up all the details while on the hike. Not surprisingly I am stuck on the yellow composite family flower – comment if you have an idea! Not pictured are the fairy-duster, the delphinium, the bluedicks, the lupine, the two lonely California poppies, and the popcorn flower (cryptantha, hiding next to the blazing star). Thanks to my hiking buddies for their sharp eyes!

Leave a comment